Peloton Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Peloton. I am fit (thought I was) yet I cannot reach the output that the trainer(s) say in the class. Either I cannot go the same resistance OR if in that resistance, I cannot achieve the Cadence. Please tell me what I am doing wrong? I do not want to build - I want to tone down and loose weight (as recently i have picked up weight on my top leg/bum area). I like the HIIT and the diversity. But why can I not get anywhere near the output that they are suggesting?

·
Registered
50 Posts
Welcome! I had the same feeling when I started. Output is impacted by size and weight as well. As a smaller and lighter rider I put out much lower output than larger heavier riders including my husband and I am faster than him on the bike outdoors.

My advice is to try to keep in the cadence range the instructors are saying and modify the resistance to what you can do and add to it over time.

·
Registered
52 Posts
If you are enjoying your rides and getting a good workout I wouldn't worry about your output being lower and I agree that you should match the cadence first and build up to the resistance. If you are a competitive person and/or are wanting to improve your outdoor cycling there is a Power Zone program on Peloton which will absolutely help you get your output up.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi thanks for that I will try that as I cannot get the resistance right and I really do not want to build muscle at all. Terrified of that

·
Super Moderator
140 Posts
Hi. Most Peloton riders find that they will build muscle and become firmer but I haven't heard much about getting thicker unless people are also doing weight workouts like squats. Here's an article on the topic Will Cycling Make Your Thighs Bigger? - Total Women's Cycling