Peloton Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All
I use my Orangetheory HR monitor with my bike (no longer go to OT). I have 2 related questions. Background: I am new to spin (9 weeks in, riding 3x/week) and I also took 8 mos off in the Pandemic and did zero working out, so starting from an out of shape base, also am 60 years old.

When I take a class, I am frequently at the highest level on my HR monitor(100% or more), except when we get to scale back, and even then I don't drop much below 90% before we have to work hard again. I don't know what I should have my HR be at, and if it's dangerous to be so high? I feel fine and maybe I'm trying too hard to keep up but I'm always at the lower end of the suggested resistance/cadence. Can I get some help on where I should be?
Second part of this question is, is it possible my HR monitor could be off? If so, does anyone know how to calibrate an OT latest gen HR monitor, or if I can even do so?
Thank you so much!

·
Super Moderator
492 Posts
Hi All
I use my Orangetheory HR monitor with my bike (no longer go to OT). I have 2 related questions. Background: I am new to spin (9 weeks in, riding 3x/week) and I also took 8 mos off in the Pandemic and did zero working out, so starting from an out of shape base, also am 60 years old.

When I take a class, I am frequently at the highest level on my HR monitor(100% or more), except when we get to scale back, and even then I don't drop much below 90% before we have to work hard again. I don't know what I should have my HR be at, and if it's dangerous to be so high? I feel fine and maybe I'm trying too hard to keep up but I'm always at the lower end of the suggested resistance/cadence. Can I get some help on where I should be?
Second part of this question is, is it possible my HR monitor could be off? If so, does anyone know how to calibrate an OT latest gen HR monitor, or if I can even do so?
Thank you so much!

Welcome!